Posted by: ham8cheese | November 29, 2009

sunny ride, cyclocross, & the velo rouge

I’m not sure what happened to the rainy season, but it was another perfect day in San Francisco today, just calling out for a bike ride.  Mr. Spoke and I decided to ride out to Golden Gate Park with a friend and check out the Pilarcitos Bay Area Super Prestige Cyclocross race there.  I had never seen cyclocross before and was curious to check it out.  I’d say it is definitely a fun spectator sport, what with all of the speed and excitement, the difficult sun-dappled terrain and obstacles, the vocal trash-talking audience (and not to mention the occasional crash).  Particularly amazing were the hardcore folks riding on single-speeds (including the rider who placed first in the Men’s A division).  In between all the insult yelling (“Get a real bike!”), there was also more than one reference made to the hilarious hipster cyclocross video, which apparently has been making the rounds.  (At the cyclocross race, I also ran into a college friend who I literally have not laid eyes on in a decade.  Turns out she is living in Oakland – small world!  We made plans to go on a bike ride some day soon.)

Post-cyclocross, it was time to tend to our grumbling stomachs.  We rode out of the park and over to the appropriately-themed Velo Rouge Cafe on Arguello, where I learned that the highly tolerant staff will serve you even if you ride up on an orange bike.  My grilled eggplant, zucchini, and caramelized onion “Pantani” sandwich (which I ordered minus the garlic cream cheese) hit the spot (my faux-low-carb-till-6pm schtick is totally slipping!), and the side salad it came with was pleasingly strewn with strawberries, grapes, and ears of corn.

Sigh.  What a fun, lovely day.  Do I really have to go back to work tomorrow??

Responses

  1. I’m pretty sure the bedazzled bike that serves as the Velo Rouge sign is a J.C. Higgins Flightliner middleweight from the early 60s.

  2. cool! I didn’t even realize it started out as a working bike.


Leave a Reply

Categories

